Pour vous assurer la meilleure expérience, ce site utilise des cookies. En savoir plus ici.Plus d’informations

×
Buscar
Mes preferes 0
Arrivée

Coín

Punto de Información Turística, Casa de la Cultura Blas Infante, C/ Manuel García, s/n. Plza De la Villa, Coín, 29100
Afficher le téléphoneTel +34 952 45 15 57
Pueblo de Coín- Provincia de Málaga y su Costa del Sol.Pueblo de Coín- Provincia de Málaga y su Costa del Sol.Iglesia de San Juan Bautista de Coín - Provincia de Málaga y su Costa del Sol.Pueblo de Coín - Provincia de Málaga y su Costa del Sol.
Pueblo de Coín- Provincia de Málaga y su Costa del Sol.Pueblo de Coín- Provincia de Málaga y su Costa del Sol.Iglesia de San Juan Bautista de Coín - Provincia de Málaga y su Costa del Sol.Pueblo de Coín - Provincia de Málaga y su Costa del Sol.
Information
Visites recommandées
Comment arriver
Plus d’informations
Histoire
  • Située dans la Vallée du Guadalhorce, Coín s"étend depuis la Sierra de Alpujata jusqu"au centre de la région. Cette localité possède une grande variété de paysages, idéale pour profiter pleinement de la nature environnante, et ce même dans le centre historique de Coín, doté d"un riche patrimoine architectural de type religieux. Les églises de l"Incarnation, de Saint André et de Saint Jean, ainsi que l"ermitage de Notre Dame de Fuensanta, sont les principaux monuments du lieu et ils sont liés à ses traditions.

    PERSONNE NE S"ÉGARE DANS COÍN

    MONUMENTS

    L"église de Sainte Marie de l"Incarnation a été construite sur l"emplacement de la mosquée de la ville par ordre des Rois Catholiques. Sa nef possède une coupole nervurée et une décoration en plâtre. Plus tard, au cours du XVIIIème siècle, on a bâti en annexe un couvent utilisé de nos jours pour accueillir des activités culturelles, et dont on consacre les trois salles aux expositions ayant pour thèmes l"ethnographie, l"art et bien entendu l"archéologie.

    Ce mélange de styles, héritage de la diversité culturelle de l"histoire locale, se retrouve notamment dans l"église de Saint Jean Baptiste, érigée au XVIème siècle, et qui contient divers éléments de style classique, gothique, mudéjar et baroque. À l"intérieur on peut admirer une sculpture de Notre Dame des Anges ainsi que l"image de la Vierge de la Fuensanta, sainte patronne de Coín à l"origine de diverses traditions et fêtes populaires.

    De ce fait, une partie de ces fêtes patronales dédiées à la Vierge ont lieu dans un ermitage primitif qui date du XVIème siècle. Situé dans un emplacement privilégié, ce sanctuaire offre une perspective unique qui permet de contempler tout le site environnant la rivière Pereila, parsemé ici et là de touches rurales sous forme de moulins, vieux ponts abandonnés, une chaussée romaine ou encore le gisement du Llano de la Virgen, déclaré Bien d"Intérêt Culturel.

    En Andalousie il n"existe que quatre temples en forme de L, et l"un d"entre eux se trouve à Coín. Il s"agit de l"Hôpital de la Charité, construit au milieu du XVIème siècle et qui possède sa propre chapelle convertie par la suite en église de San Andrés. Le but de cette composition architecturale était d"ajouter un bras perpendiculaire à la chapelle principale afin de séparer les gens malades du reste des paroissiens. La beauté sobre de l"édifice est rehaussée par un style mudéjar et un portail néo-classique.

    Coín possède un autre monument à la beauté singulière: une tour de forme triangulaire, qui appartenait également à l"église du couvent des frères de la Trinité, et qui représente l"unique témoignage de son existence après sa destruction.

  • COMMENT SE RENDRE À COÍN DEPUIS MALAGA

    De toute la région de la Vallée du Guadalhorce, Coín est la ville la mieux reliée aux autres localités, du fait de son importance. 36 kilomètres la séparent de Malaga capitale, une distance très pratique pour réaliser des virées depuis la capitale. En voiture, on peut emprunter l"A-357 et prendre la sortie vers Cártama/Coín, puis continuer sur l"A-355, ou bien passer par la N-340, puis suivre l"A-366.

  • RESSOURCES NATURELLES

    La situation géographique de Coín entre la Sierra de Alpujata et le centre de la Vallée du Guadalhorce est idéale pour les sports en plein air et la randonnée, avec dans les alentours de nombreux itinéraires que l"on peut parcourir à pied, en vélo ou à cheval, notamment celui qui rejoint les sources du Nacimiento et de Barranco Blanco, d"une grande valeur écologique.

    CENTRES DE LOISIR

    Le projet de la Cité du Cinéma projet a été conçu dans la municipalité de Coín pour le tournage sur place de séries et de films, et depuis son inauguration, productions nationales et internationales s"y sont succédées. À la fin du tournage de la série andalouse Arrayán, d"autres productions s"y sont déroulées de manière intermittente et actuellement, différents actifs touristiques lui permettent de relancer son activité.

    FÊTES POPULAIRES

    En mai, Coín célèbre l"agrume produit dans ses vergers, au cours de sa Fête de l"Orange, qui marque d"une part la fin de la récolte et qui fait d"autre part la promotion des produits du terroir : parmi les évènements et activités proposés, des dégustations publiques sont organisées autour de ce produit phare.

    La passion des habitants de Coín pour le cheval est bien connue, et elle prend corps lors de deux évènements de taille : en octobre, où se tient la Concentration Équestre et en avril, où c"est au tour du Salon Andalou du Cheval de Pure Race. Par ailleurs, la période estivale est le moment propice pour les festivals de Danses Populaires et de Cante Flamenco.

    En mai, la Vierge de la Fuensanta, sainte patronne de Coín, est portée jusqu"à l"ermitage qui lui est dédié au cours d"un pèlerinage fréquenté par habitants et visiteurs. Puis en juin, l"image de la sainte est portée jusqu"au sanctuaire par ses dévoués fidèles. Pour le retour à sa chapelle d"origine, des chariots tirés par des bœufs participent à un concours dont l"issue permet au gagnant d"avoir le privilège de ramener la sainte image à l"église de Saint Jean Baptiste.

    En août, la Feria de Coín s"organise en deux temps : la Feria de De Jour prend ses aises dans le centre du village et offre aux visiteurs tapas et boissons, le tout rythmé par groupes et orchestres tout au long de la journée, tandis que la Feria Nocturne se déploie dans le Parc des Expositions afin de proposer un grand choix d"activités et d"attractions de type familial.

    GASTRONOMIE

    Offrant une récolte abondante et de qualité, les oranges représentent le produit phare de Coín. La soupe hervía ou cachorreña est le plat typique de Coín (pommes de terre, morue, et jus d"orange), mais on peut savourer d"autres spécialités traditionnelles telles que les potages, le puchero (ragoût à base pois chiches, légumes et viande), le gazpachuelo (merlu et pommes de terre cuites dans une soupe de mayonnaise agrémentée de citron), la soupe de poivrons et tomates, le mojete (salade d"oranges, tomates, oignons et olives) et le gazpacho (soupe froide à base de tomates et autres légumes du jardin).

    La pâtisserie de Coín est idéalement représentée par les fameuses patates douces rôties que l"on récolte dans toute la région, ainsi que le pain de figues, les rosquillas ou les gachas con arrope (sorte de gruau au verjus).

  • Histoire


    Le territoire qu"occupe aujourd"hui Coín a été habité par l"homme depuis la préhistoire. Les sites archéologiques de l"Âge du Cuivre des collines d"Ardite et Carranque et del Llano de la Virgen, déclaré Bien d"Intérêt Culturel, en attestent. Des restes de l"Âge du Fer ont également été mis au jour dans la colline del Aljibe, ainsi que des vestiges grecs, phéniciens, ibériques, romains et wisigothiques à plusieurs endroits de la commune. À ces trouvailles s"ajoute l"existence d"une église rupestre construite entre le VIIIème et le Xème siècles, qui témoigneraient de la présence d"une grande communauté mozarabe sur ces terres.

    Coín joua un important rôle sous la domination musulmane lors des campagnes d"Abderramán III contre le dissident muladi Omar Ben Hafsún. Hish Dakwan, nom de la ville à l"époque musulmane, connut sa période de plus grande splendeur entre le XIIIème et le XVème siècles, et alla même jusqu"à devenir le siège judiciaire et probablement la capitale administrative de la région occidentale de Málaga, la Algarbía. Durant cette période, quelques auteurs comme Ibn Battuta ou Ibn Al-Jathib vantèrent les bontés naturelles de cette contrée grâce à ses nombreuses ressources hydriques, son exubérante végétation et la douceur de son climat.
    La prise d"Hish Dakwan par les Chrétiens en l"an 1485 devint l"un des faits les plus mémorables de la conquête du Royaume Nasride de Grenade du fait de la résistance héroïque dont firent preuve ses défenseurs. La ville étant assiégée par les troupes des Rois Catholiques, la forteresse qui jusqu"alors protégeait la ville fut détruite et le partage des terres eut lieu. On ordonna également la construction, sur la mosquée principale, du premier temple destiné au culte chrétien : l"église de Santa María de la Encarnación.

    Certains chercheurs affirment que Christophe Colomb visita Coín dans le cadre de ses démarches auprès des Rois pour effectuer son célèbre voyage à la conquête de l"Amérique et que Miguel de Cervantes séjourna également dans le village lorsqu"il exerçait comme percepteur des impôts au service de la Couronne. Une chose est cependant sûre : au XVIIème siècle, la commune était un passage obligatoire d"outre-mer grâce à sa situation stratégique sur le Camino Real, tandis qu"au XVIIIème siècle, le village déployait une forte activité commerciale et agricole. En 1773, le territoire recensait environ sept cents vergers et potagers où étaient cultivés toutes sortes de fruits et légumes.
    Coín fit son entrée dans la période moderne au début du XXème siècle lors de l"inauguration du chemin de fer qui allait relier la ville à la capitale de Málaga à partir de 1913. Dix-sept ans plus tard, le roi Alphonse XIII accorda à ce village de la région de la vallée du Guadalhorce le titre de Ville et celui d"Excellence à la mairie.

     

    La légende d"Abindarráez et la belle Jalifa

    Un romance du XVIème siècle intitulé « L"histoire d"Abindarráez et la belle Jalifa » raconte l"idylle semée d"embuches entre un Maure et une Chrétienne qui firent passer leur amour avant les intérêts de leurs communautés respectives. La légende raconte qu"alors que le jeune musulman se dirigeait à la rencontre de sa bien-aimée, un chevalier castillan le captura. Cependant, son ravisseur lui accorda la possibilité de revoir Jalifa une dernière fois, à condition de revenir par la suite. Le Maure obéit au Chrétien en tout point, et ce dernier, ému par ce noble comportement, lui accorda la liberté.

     

Plus d’informations

Caractéristiques

  • Habitants (10 001-25 000)
  • Zone à l'intérieur des terres

Carte et indications

Continuez votre expérience sur la Costa del Sol...

  • Plaza de la Marina,4
  • 29015 Málaga
  • Tel: +34952126272
  • Fax: +34952225207
  • info@costadelsol.travel

© 2018 Turismo y Planificación Costa del Sol S.L.U. Tous droits réservés

To provide you with the best experience, cookies are used on this site. Find out more here. More information

 
×
Buscar
My favourites 0
Start date

Coín

Punto de Información Turística, Casa de la Cultura Blas Infante, C/ Manuel García, s/n. Plza De la Villa, Coín, 29100
View phone numberTel +34 952 45 15 57
Pueblo de Coín- Provincia de Málaga y su Costa del Sol.Pueblo de Coín- Provincia de Málaga y su Costa del Sol.Iglesia de San Juan Bautista de Coín - Provincia de Málaga y su Costa del Sol.Pueblo de Coín - Provincia de Málaga y su Costa del Sol.
Pueblo de Coín- Provincia de Málaga y su Costa del Sol.Pueblo de Coín- Provincia de Málaga y su Costa del Sol.Iglesia de San Juan Bautista de Coín - Provincia de Málaga y su Costa del Sol.Pueblo de Coín - Provincia de Málaga y su Costa del Sol.
Information
What to see
How to get here
More information
Town history
  • The town of Coín is located in the region of Valle del Guadalhorce, stretching from the Sierra de Alpujata to the centre of the region and it has a great diversity of landscapes where visitors can enjoy nature from the heart of the historical centre. In this regard, Coín has a great wealth of religious and architectural heritage. The churches that bring the town to life, such as the Encarnación, San Andrés and San Juan churches, together with the Nuestra Señora de la Fuensanta chapel, which are the main monuments in this town, closely related to its traditions.

    There is a large British community in this town, as in many other towns in the province of Malaga.

    MUST SEE SITES IN COÍN

    MONUMENTS

    The Catholic Monarchs order the Santa María de la Encarnación church to be built on what was the former Arab mosque. It has a nave with a ribbed dome and a plaster relief walls. The convent was built later during the 18th century and it is now used for cultural activities. The entire building has three halls in which various ethnographic, artistic and, of course, archaeological exhibitions are held.

    The town"s mixture of styles resulting from the cultural diversity of its history is reflected in the Iglesia de San Juan Bautista. Built during the 16th century, it has classic, gothic, Mudejar and baroque elements. Inside there is a sculpture of Nuestra Señora de los Ángeles and the image of the Virgin of Fuensanta, the patron saint of Coín and the origin of a number of traditions and local festivities.

    An ancient chapel is the centre of some local festivities in honour of Nuestra Señora de la Fuensanta, dating back to the 16th century. The sanctuary offers a unique view given its privileged position offering views over the entire area, with the Pereila river running through it. This area offers images of rural art illustrated in mills, ancient bridges, now abandoned, a Roman road or the Llano de la Virgen site, declared a Site of Cultural Interest.

    There are four L-shaped temples in Andalusia, one of which is located in Coín. The Hospital de la Caridad, built in the middle of the 16th century, it has its own chapel and was later converted into the San Andrés church. This architectural feature was designed to add a wing perpendicular to the chancel in order to separate those suffering from illness from other believers. The restrained beauty of the building is enlivened by its Mudejar style and neo-classical main door.

    Coín also has a unique tower with a triangular base. This tower belonged to the church of the Trinity Convent and although the building was destroyed, the tower is the only remnant of its existence.

  • DIRECTIONS TO COÍN FROM MALAGA

    Of the entire region of Valle del Guadalhorce, Coín is the town with most connections to other towns, given its importance. It is located approximately 36 kilometres from the city of Malaga, which is why it is the ideal day out from the city. If you are travelling by car, take the A-357 to the exit to Cártama/Coín, and then continue along the A-355. Another option is to take the N-340 to then take the A-366.

  • NATURAL RESOURCES

    Coín is located between the Sierra de Alpujata and the centre of the Valle del Guadalhorce. If you are an outdoor sports enthusiast and enjoy hiking, the surrounding areas of Coín offer countless routes to be enjoyed on foot, by bike or on horseback. We highly recommend visiting the natural springs of El Nacimiento and Barranco Blanco, given their incomparable ecological value.

    LEISURE CENTRES

    The Ciudad del Cine (The Coín Film City) was a project that began in Coín some years ago and it is where a number of series and movies were filmed. Since its inauguration, it has been used to film both national and foreign productions. Since the production of the Andalusian series called Arrayán came to an end, a few other productions have been filmed there sporadically and it is currently offering various tourism activities that are bringing it back to life again.

    LOCAL FESTIVITIES

    Given the local agriculture, the Fiesta de la Naranja (Orange Festival) is held in May, coinciding with the end of the harvest period. This celebration promotes the local products of Coín, where residents and visitors alike can sample dishes in which the orange is the star product, as well as additional activities and events.

    Coín is well-known for its fondness for the world of horses. And this is reflected in the two important events held throughout the year. The Concentración Caballista (Equestrian Gatherin) is held in October, and the Salón Andaluz del Caballo de Pura Raza (the Purebred Spanish Horse Exhibition) is held in April. The Traditional Dance and Flamenco signing festivals are held during the summer months.

    The patron saint of Coín is the Virgen de la Fuensanta and in May she is taken to her chapel in a pilgrimage in which locals and visitors take part. The following month, in June, the devout of the patron saint of Coín take her image to the sanctuary, with this journey being organised by means of a competition between the ox-pulled carts so the winner has the privilege of carry the image back to her normal chapel in the Iglesia.

    The Coín fair is held in August and it is divided into two areas, the daytime fair or, Feria de Día, in the centre of the town where you can enjoy tapas, drinks and even listen to a band or an orchestra. The Feria de Noche, held during the evening in the fairground, where there is a whole host of acts and rides for the whole family to enjoy.

    GASTRONOMY

    Oranges are the start product of Coín, given its excellent local produce. The sopa "hervía" or cachorreña (potatoes, cod and orange juice) is a typical dish of Coín, although other traditional specialities include, potajes, (stews), puchero (a creamy chickpea broth, with vegetables and meat), gazpachuelo (cod with boiled potatoes in a mayonnaise and lemon soup), pepper and tomato soup, mojete (salad with oranges, tomato, onion and olives) and gazpacho a chilled tomato soup using other products from the vegetable garden).

    Coín is famous for its oven-baked sweet potatoes which are also produced in the entire region, together with fig bread, traditional doughnuts or gachas con arrope (a soft pap made from flour with grape syrup).

  • Town history


    The area where Coín is located today has been inhabited by man since the dawn of time, as attested by the archaeological evidence from the Copper Age found in the mountains of Ardite and Carranque, and in Llano de la Virgen, an Asset of Cultural Interest. Remains from the Iron Age were unearthed in Cerro del Aljibe, while pieces belonging to Greek, Phoenician, Iberian, Roman and Visigothic settlements have been found in various points in the municipality. To these findings we should add the eighth- to tenth-century cave church pointing at the presence of a large Mozarabic community in the area.

    Under Islamic rule, Coín played a key role in in the military campaigns led by Abd-ar-Rahman III against the Christian leader Umar ibn Hafsun. Hish Dakwan – the village"s name in Arabic – reached its zenith between the thirteenth and the fifteenth century, becoming the administrative and judicial capital of Algarbía (Western Málaga). Authors like Ibn Battuta and Ibn al-Khatib described it as a land with lavish vegetation, abundant water and a mild weather.

    Hish Dakwan was seized by the Christians in 1485 – one of the most striking events in the conquest of the Nasrid Kingdom of Granada, as the local population fought tooth and nail. In the end, they succumbed. The forces of the Catholic Monarchs tore the fort down and divided the land. They also built their first church on the ruins of the grand mosque. It was the Church of Santa María de la Encarnación.

    Some historians believe that both Christopher Columbus and Miguel de Cervantes visited Coín. The former was seeking support from the Catholic Monarchs for his trip to the Indies, while the latter worked as a tax collector for the King. In the seventeenth century, Coín was on the way to Spain"s overseas colonies, for it was a strategic point on the Royal Itinerary. In the eighteenth century, it had risen to prominence, courtesy of its commercial and agricultural activity. In 1773, the village had as many as 700 gardens producing all kinds of fruit and vegetables.

    In the early twentieth century (1913), Coín got its first railway line, linking it to Málaga City. In 1930, King Alfonso XIII granted this village in the Guadalhorce valley the town charter, allowing the city authorities to be referred to as "Your Excellency".

     

    Legend has it…: Abindarráez and beautiful Jarifa

    The love story of Abindarráez and Jarifa is told in a sixteenth-century romance. He was Muslim; she was Christian. They chose to put their love above the interests of the communities they belonged to. One day, when he was visiting his girlfriend, Abindarráez was captured by a Christian knight, who nevertheless allowed him to see Jarifa for the last time, on the condition that he should go back to prison after the meeting. Abindarráez did as he was told. Surprised by the Moor"s honourable behaviour, the man set him free.

     

More information

Characteristics

  • Inhabitants (10,001-25,000)
  • Inland area

Map & directions

Continue your experience on the Costa del Sol

  • Plaza de la Marina,4
  • 29015 Málaga
  • Tel: +34952126272
  • Fax: +34952225207
  • info@costadelsol.travel

© 2019 Turismo y Planificación Costa del Sol S.L.U. All Rights Reserved