Pour vous assurer la meilleure expérience, ce site utilise des cookies. En savoir plus ici.Plus d’informations

×
Mon guide 0
Vous êtes ici:

Totalán

Ayuntamiento, C/ Del Real, Totalán, 29197
Fax : +34 952 40 02 54
Afficher le téléphoneTel +34 952 40 02 15
Pueblo de Totalán - Provincia de Málaga y su Costa del Sol.Pájaro en Totalán - Provincia de Málaga y su Costa del Sol.Detalle de cerámica en Totalán - Provincia de Málaga y su Costa del Sol.Parroquia de Santa Ana en Totalán - Provincia de Málaga y su Costa del Sol.
Pueblo de Totalán - Provincia de Málaga y su Costa del Sol.Pájaro en Totalán - Provincia de Málaga y su Costa del Sol.Detalle de cerámica en Totalán - Provincia de Málaga y su Costa del Sol.Parroquia de Santa Ana en Totalán - Provincia de Málaga y su Costa del Sol.
Information
Visites recommandées
Comment arriver
Plus d’informations
Histoire
Vidéo
  • Totalán s"étend entre les lits de deux ruisseaux, sur les terres frontalières qui limitent la comarque de l"Axarquía et les Montes de Málaga. Ses rues étroites et ses maisons blanches évoquent le passé andalou de ce village qui est aussi lié à la figure du chanteur de flamenco Antonio Molina.

    De par son emplacement entre la mer et la montagne, les Arabes ont fait de Totalán une enclave pour le contrôle des côtes de Malaga. Aujourd"hui, il reste quelques empreintes de cette époque dans l"architecture et la gastronomie traditionnelle.

    VOUS NE POUVEZ PAS VOUS PERDRE À TOTALÁN

    MONUMENTS

    Depuis des temps immémoriaux, ces terres furent les témoins de différentes colonies de peuplement. Près du noyau urbain, au niveau de Los Baltasares, le visiteur pourra venir contempler le Dolmen du Cerro de la Corona. Cette structure funéraire, datée entre le IVème et le IIIème millénaire avant J. C., se situe sur une colline qui offre à la vue de splendides panoramas des environs.

    Sur le chemin du retour, la Torre del Violín-Mirador del Zagal nous attend. Elle remémore la victoire des Arabes face à l"armée chrétienne dans une bataille qui s"est produite en 1483. Cette enclave de construction récente inclut une place, une mosaïque en céramique et une tour qui abrite des salles d"exposition.

    La Torre de Salazar est aussi d"époque musulmane. Déclarée Bien d"intérêt culturel, elle fut érigée au XIème siècle, sur une colline depuis laquelle se divisent les communes de Totalán et de la bahía de Malaga. Elle servait à surveiller la côte pour prévenir des éventuelles invasions ennemies.

    L"église paroissiale de Santa Ana est le monument religieux le plus important de Totalán. Bien qu"elle date du XVIème siècle, elle fut soumise à une réforme un siècle plus tard. Le temple compte deux nefs séparées par des arcs en plein cintre et un magnifique plafond à caissons en bois. À l"extérieur s"imposent une tour de style mudéjar et un arc qui unit l"édifice ecclésiastique avec les maisons proches.

    Les Jardins de la Cascada, le Paseo de la Salud et l"ancien lavoir municipal méritent aussi le détour. Ce dernier se situe au niveau de La Huerta. Ce village de l"Axarquía, à travers un joli monument, rend hommage au chanteur Antonio Molina, illustre enfant du coin et un des plus célèbres artistes de l"histoire du flamenco.

  • COMMENT VENIR À TOTALÁN DEPUIS MALAGA

    Depuis Málaga capitale à Totalán, il y a 20 kilomètres. Pour faire ce chemin en voiture, il faut prendre la route E-15 et la sortie 251 vers la MA-24 en direction de Totalán. L"autre option est de longer la côte jusqu"à prendre la N-340 et rejoindre ensuite la MA-24 en suivant les panneaux qui indiquent de Totalán.

  • RESSOURCES NATURELLES

    Ruisseaux, ravins et flancs escarpés caractérisent l"environnement naturel de Totalán, entre mer et montagne. Pour découvrir ses alentours les plus intéressants, il existe deux sentiers de randonnée. L"un d"eux conduit jusqu"à la plage de la Cala del Moral, dans la commune de Rincón de la Victoria. L"autre mène au village de Moclinejo, et permet d"apercevoir en chemin le parc naturel des Montes de Málaga.

    FÊTES POPULAIRES

    En novembre Totalán célèbre la fête de la Chanfaina, un rendez-vous créé pour honorer le plat le plus typique de la commune. Déclaré de Singularité touristique provincial, cet évènement est combiné à des dégustations culinaires et des expositions, des marchés populaires et des scènes musicales.

    La foire en honneur à la Vierge del Rosario est la fête la plus traditionnelle en Totalán. Elle a lieu le dernier week-end de mai et son programme inclue des concerts, des scènes, des courses de rubans, une paella populaire et une procession au nom de la patronne du village.

    Totalán organise sa semaine culturelle en octobre, ce qui coïncide avec le jour de la Vierge del Rosario.

    GASTRONOMIE

    La chanfaina qui fut, à une époque, la subsistance des agriculteurs durant les saisons de labour, est aujourd"hui le plat le plus représentatif de la gastronomie de Totalán. Ses ingrédients basiques sont les pommes de terre, l"huile d"olive, l"ail, le vinaigre, les mies de pain et différentes épices.

    Parmi les autres recettes traditionnelles, on peut évoquer les maimones (une soupe d"ail), le potiron frit (un excellent plat de potiron poché avec de la charcuterie), l"ajoblanco (soupe froide d"amandes, d"ail, d"huile, de pain, qui s"accompagne de quelques fruits comme les raisins), le gazpacho (la boisson estivale principalement à base de tomates) et le gazpachuelo (soupe de poisson de couleur blanche à la saveur particulière). De plus, bien qu"en petite quantité, du vin artisanal est fabriqué à Totalán.

  • Histoire

    Totalán a été habité par l"homme depuis la préhistoire, comme le prouve son Dolmen del Cerro de la Corona, également appelé la « tombe du Maure ». À proximité de cette structure funéraire datant des IVème et IIIème millénaires av. J.-C, des restes de squelettes humains et des fragments de récipients céramiques ont été découverts. Cette construction mégalithique est une inhumation collective d"au moins dix individus.

    À l"époque arabe, El Zagal vainquit une partie de l"armée chrétienne qui se rendit sur ces terres en suivant le cours du ruisseau Totalán. Ces troupes prévoyaient d"attaquer la garnison musulmane établie près de Moclinejo. Les Arabes furent informés de l"arrivée des ennemis et purent remporter la bataille. L"attaque de El Zagal fut lancée au son d"un violon qui fut joué du haut d"une tour qui se dressait à cet endroit.

    D"après la tradition populaire, le nom de Totalán proviendrait du nom d"une tourte typique de la pâtisserie andalouse qui était élaborée dans cette contrée. Certains documents parlent de plusieurs hameaux appelés Tortela, Tortila et Tortalán qui auraient été des centres de production de cette pâtisserie. Toutefois, jusqu"à la date, aucun vestige de l"existence de cet artisanat n"a été retrouvé.

    L"épidémie de phylloxéra qui s"abattit sur la région de l"Axarquía à la fin du XIXème siècle anéantit les vignes de la commune. La destruction de la principale ressource économique de Totalán conduit à l"abandon progressif des fermes et des champs. Mais le plus grand exode de la population eut lieu dans les années quarante du XXème siècle. En pleine période d"après-guerre, de nombreux habitants abandonnèrent le quartier malaguène de El Palo en quête d"une vie meilleure à Málaga, la capitale de la province.

Totalán

Plus d’informations

Caractéristiques

  • Habitants (501- 1 000)
  • Zone à l'intérieur des terres

Carte et indications

Mon guide 0

Tú haces tu propio viaje.

Clica en Ajouter à mon guide y añade un destino a tu guia.

  Email Page
© 2018 Turismo y Planificación Costa del Sol S.L.U. Tous droits réservés
  • Turismo y Planificación
  • Costa del Sol S.L.U.
  • Plaza de la Marina n4
  • 29015 Málaga
  • Tel: +34952126272
  • Fax: +34952225207
  • info@costadelsol.travel

To provide you with the best experience, cookies are used on this site. Find out more here.More information

×
Buscar
My favourites 0
Start date

Totalán

Ayuntamiento, C/ Del Real, Totalán, 29197
View phone numberTel +34 952 40 02 15
Pájaro en Totalán - Provincia de Málaga y su Costa del Sol.Detalle de cerámica en Totalán - Provincia de Málaga y su Costa del Sol.Parroquia de Santa Ana en Totalán - Provincia de Málaga y su Costa del Sol.Pueblo de Totalán - Provincia de Málaga y su Costa del Sol.
Pájaro en Totalán - Provincia de Málaga y su Costa del Sol.Detalle de cerámica en Totalán - Provincia de Málaga y su Costa del Sol.Parroquia de Santa Ana en Totalán - Provincia de Málaga y su Costa del Sol.Pueblo de Totalán - Provincia de Málaga y su Costa del Sol.
Information
What to see
How to get here
More information
Town history
  • TOTALAN

    Totalan extends over the banks of two streams in the borderlands between the La Axarquia region and the Malaga Mountains. Narrow streets and white houses recall the Andalusian past, associated with the figure of the flamenco singer Antonio Molina.

    Because of its location between the sea and the mountains, the Arabs converted Totalan into a surveillance spot from which to look out over the Malaga coast line. Some traces from this period still persist today in the architecture and traditional cuisine.

    SOME THINGS NOT TO BE MISSED IN TOTALAN

    MONUMENTS

    From time immemorial, this land has witnessed many different settlements. Not far from the urban centre, in the sparsely populated area of Los Baltasares, you can look out onto the Cerro de la Corona Dolmen, a stone tomb structure, dating between the 4th and 3rd millennium BC. It is situated on top of a hill, which offers magnificent views of the surrounding areas.

    Going back into the centre of the village, we come across the Torre del Violín-Mirador del Zagal, which commemorates the Arab victory against the Christian army in a battle which took place in 1483. This newly-built complex has a square, a ceramic mosaic and a tower containing exhibition rooms.

    Also dating from the Muslim period is the Torre de Salazar (Salazar Tower), which is listed as a site of Cultural Interest. It was built in the 11th century on a hill which divides part of the municipality of Totalan and Malaga Bay. It functioned as a look-out tower to prevent possible invasions by enemies.

    The Santa Ana parochial church is the main religious monument in Totalan. Although it dates back to the 16th century, it was reformed one century later. It has two naves, separated by rounded arches and a magnificent wooden coffered ceiling. Outside you can observe the Mudejar-style tower and an archway that connects the church building with the nearby houses.

    Also worth a visit are the Jardines de la Cascada (Waterfall Gardens), Paseo de la Salud and the ancient communal washing place, located in La Huerta. The village also has a beautiful monument in honour of the flamenco singer Antonio Molina, eminent son of the village and one of the most famous flamenco artists in history.

  • HOW TO GET TO TOTALAN FROM MALAGA

    Totalan is only 20 kilometres away from the capital of Malaga. To get there by car we recommend taking the E-15 motorway road, coming off at exit 251 leading you on to the MA-24 towards Totalan. Alternatively, you can take the coastal road until you get to the N-340 and later join the MA-24 following the directions for Totalan.

     

  • NATURAL RESOURCES

    Streams, ravines and steep slopes make up the natural environment of Totalan, sitting between the sea and mountains. There are two hiking routes that allow you to discover the most interesting spots. One of these trails leads up to the Cala del Moral beach, in the municipality of Rincón de la Victoria. The other takes you to the village of Moclinejo. Along the trail you can spot the Malaga Mountains Natural Park.

    VILLAGE FESTIVALS

    In November, Totalan celebrates its Chanfaina Festival, a feast held in honour of the area"s most typical dish. Declared to be an event of Unique Tourist Interest in the Province, it combines food tasting with exhibitions, village markets and musical events.

    The celebration in honour of the Virgen del Rosario (Our Lady of the Rosary) is the most traditional in Totalan. It takes place on the last weekend in May and its programme includes concerts, performances, belt races, large paella for all and the procession of the patron saint through the village streets.

    Totalan Culture Week is in October, and coincides with Our Lady of the Rosary"s Day.

    GASTRONOMY

    The chanfaina, which in other times provided sustenance to farmers while working, is now the most representative dish in Totalan cuisine. Its basic ingredients are potatoes, olive oil, garlic, vinegar, breadcrumbs and different spices.

    Other traditional specialities include maimones (garlic soup), calabaza frita (an excellent dish of sauteed pumpkin with cold meats), ajoblanco (cold soup made with almonds, garlic, olive oil, bread, accompanied with grapes or other fruits), gazpacho (summer drink mainly tomato-based) and gazpachuelo (tasty white fish soup). Totalan also produces artisan wines, although in small quantities.

  • Town history

    Totalán has witnessed the presence of man since prehistoric times, as attested by the dolmen in Cerro de la Corona, aka "the Moor"s tomb". The site, dating back to the fourth or third century BC, also had human bones and fragments of pieces of pottery. The dolmen is thought to have been the burial site of at least ten corpses.

    In Arab times, Az-Zaghall defeated a Christian army following the course of the Totalán stream. They were planning to charge against the Muslim garrison posted near Moclinejo. Word of the invasion reached the Arabs, who got ready for battle and defeated their enemies. The attack led by Az-Zaghall was accompanied by a fiddler playing the violin from up a tower (hence the current tower"s name).

    According to popular wisdom, the town"s name, "Totalán", is associated with a traditional cake made in Al-Andalus. Historical records contain mentions of hamlets called "Tortela", "Tortila" and "Tortalán". They could have been places where this sweet was made. No traces of the cake itself, however, were ever found.

    The phylloxera plague affecting the region of Axarquía in the late nineteenth century did away with Totalán"s grapevines. With their primary means of income annihilated, people started leaving the fields and farmhouses. A major exodus took place half a century later, in the post-war years, when many locals left for El Palo, a district in Málaga City, in an effort to find better ways of making a living.

More information

Characteristics

  • Inhabitants (501-1,000)
  • Inland area

Map & directions

Continue your experience on the Costa del Sol

  • Plaza de la Marina,4
  • 29015 Málaga
  • Tel: +34952126272
  • Fax: +34952225207
  • info@costadelsol.travel

© 2019 Turismo y Planificación Costa del Sol S.L.U. All Rights Reserved